Little book haul!

Hello everybody!

I know I haven’t posted in a pretty long time. I just started University and it’s taking up a lot of my time. I personally didn’t think it would be this hard to keep up with all the homework. But anyway, I have found out that there is always time for a good book! I have read a LOT over the summer and i’ve been filling my bookshelfs with new and exciting books to read (which is pretty bad for my wallet). I thought I would share with you some of the books I bought recently and that I plan to read soon, or have already read. In which case I will let you know my thoughts on it!

A court of thorns and roses by Sarah J. Maas

13686852_1734283513504382_1790735010_n

I ordered this book online because I had heard great things about it. I have got to be honest and say that this book stayed on my shelfs for a fair amount of time before I finally started reading it. But when I did start reading I couldn’t put it down. And I mean LITERALLY. I read this book in two days and when I finished, I started the second book in the series straight away. It’s about a girl named Feyre who lives in this world that is devided between humans and faeries. She gets taken to a court in the enemy’s land, where she has to stay as a punishment for taking a life. The book finds the perfect balance between action and romance. I LOVED it and was really sad when I finished it. The second book in the series is A court of mist and fury, which is even better than the first one! I can’t say to much about this book, because that would spoil them, but believe me, they’re amazing. (warning: there is some mature content in the books, so they’re not suitable for younger readers!)

Harry potter and the cursed child by J.K. Rowling 

13712330_287450248287916_1771243528_n1

I have started this book but I have not yet finished it. I have heard a lot of mixed reviews for this, but the part I have read, I really liked. Even though this looks like a normal book, it’s not. It is a script for a play. This means it’s written as an actual script. There are descriptions of what the set looks like in every scene and there are no thoughts written, only the things that are actually said, meaning the whole book consists of dialog. I think it takes a bit of fantasy to fill in the blanks. When you’re able to accept the fact that it reads a bit differently from a normal book, it’s a really fun read. though I have to say, it cannot be compared to the amazing (original) seven Harry Potter books, it’s still a fun read.

The BFG by Roald Dahl

Roald Dahl is one of my favourite authors of all time. He wrote some fantastic books and it’s unbelievable how someone could have such a vivid and amazing imagination. The books he wrote for children are also amazing for adults. I have read this book in Dutch when I was little, but I decided to pick up a English copy. The book is just as amazing and magical now, as it was when I was a lot younger. I also can’t wait to see the movie that just came out and I just really hope it does the book justice. If you are not familiar with the story, it’s about a girl named Sophie, who gets snatched from her bed by the BFG, which is short for the Big Friendly Giant. There are also some other giants in Giant Country, these are not friendly at all! Together they decide that these mean giants must be stopped! It’s a great and funny book for all ages.

13707055_147151695708849_2128403375_n

I hope this gives you a bit of inspiration to read some of these books, if you have already read them, I would love to hear your thoughts on them! I hope you’re having a very nice day and I’ll talk to you soon!

love, Nienke

Leave a Reply

